Green Muesli

To tell you the truth, the day right after I published the post about the homemade muesli in May, Karma asked for the “green muesli” I had told you about. I took photos and kept them in my “food photos archive” (which is, in a way, the waiting room for my blog). I think it is about time now to finally fulfill my promise.

This will give me the chance to finish that other (huge) post I’ve been writing and that’s been absorbing me… which explains my silence over the past two weeks… sorry about that!

This recipe I’m about to share here has quite evolved ever since I got the initial idea, a couple of years ago. It all started the day I felt like adding thyme to my bowl of cornflakes (which I always eat dry). The combination struck me right away as full of potential!!!
After a while, I tried to toss in some rolled oats, it gave it a nice body and a richer flavor. Then, I thought of adding cucumber to give it a “refreshing” twist. At that point, the base was established: grains, thyme and cucumber. Simple and tasty.

I had the chance to try so many variations on this base, and when I had to stop eating gluten, it was very easy and pleasant to keep on having my morning cereals! Even though I was a ravenous cornflakes fiend (I used to buy the 1 KG box and eat it – alone – in less than a week), I find this preparation now to be way more satisfying without it. I did dabble in making my own cornflakes at home at some point (they were SO much tastier than commercial ones), and used that in my muesli. But I wasn’t able to develop a less time-consuming method, so cornflakes are not part of my menu anymore. However, they may be a nice addition to this muesli, so if you happen to have some, do throw a handful in your bowl. Watch out for the gluten though, if you’re gluten intolerant: cornflakes contain barley malt, and are generally manufactured on lines of production that also handle wheat. You can find gluten-free cornflakes in specialized sections in supermarkets; they’re not bad (but I personally wouldn’t revert to commercial cornflakes, now that I tasted homemade ones). Otherwise, I find using rice cakes to fill the same role in “fluffing up” this preparation and  making it lighter.

So you know the drill already: you throw together this muesli in about 6 minutes. You can even get your 3-year-old to do half the work for you (and if you’re lucky enough, serve it to you in bed with a rose in a vase :P).

Ingredients:

  • Your choice of grains, about 1 tbsp of each: millet, buckwheat, amaranth (gluten eaters can add rolled oats)
  • Choice of nuts and seeds: whole almonds, whole walnuts, sunflower seeds, sesame seeds, flaxseed
  • Roasted chickpeas (also sold as 2dame / قضامة in our local kernel mix of bzurat / بزورات) – you can also roast them in yourself in the oven
  • Black seeds (also called black cumin, nigella sativa, or 7abbet el barake / حبّة البركة in arabic)
  • Store bought rice cake, crumbled
  • Cucumber, un-peeled
  • Plain dried powdered thyme (also known as zaatar / زعتر)
  • Sea salt
  • Olive oil (optional)
  • Homemade or gluten-free cornflakes (optional)

Directions:

  1. Roast the grains, nuts and seeds in a small pan on the stove top.
    If using any of the following, add it just at the end, turn the fire on low, and roast it for no more than a minute: sesame, linseed, amaranth.
  2. In a bowl, put the sunflower seeds, roasted chickpeas, rice cake crumbs, cornflakes, roasted mix and cucumber.
  3. Sprinkle with powdered thyme (to taste) and a pinch of sea salt, then mix thoroughly.
  4. Add a touch of olive oil if you wish.

Click on any photo to toggle larger view / slideshow

You can prepare this muesli beforehand and store it in an airtight container (omitting the cucumber, that is). But it is by far better when made on the spot.

I hope you will have enjoyable pieces of morning with this breakfast idea!

Leave a Reply

