The morning after

One of the nicest outcomes of yesterday evening’s event (in case you have no clue what I’m talking about, check the news), is the fact that our daughter Karma did not go to the nursery this morning. This means that she was treated to her beloved breakfast ritual at home, which is unusual on a Thursday, as she normally eats her morning meal at the nursery.
As soon as I announced to her that she was staying home, her face irradiated and she asked with a big smile “So we’re gonna have muesli, mama?”

Karma, who is now almost 3 yrs old, just loves our muesli “ceremonial”, and is an active part of the drill. She wants to make it all by herself, and manages to do most of it pretty well, I must say.

This kitchen buzz will be presented by… Karma herself! This is actually to show you how easy it is to prepare. It takes about 10 minutes, altogether, to make this extremely nourishing and really delicious morning goodie.

Click on any photo for a larger view or slideshow

For our sweet muesli, these are the ingredients I usually choose from:

Cereals, grains and nuts:

  • Buckwheat
  • Millet
  • Quinoa (a bit bitter though)
  • Amaranth
  • Rolled wheat, oats, barley (for the non GF version)
  • Crumbs of store-bought rice cakes
  • Cornflakes (or homemade toasted rolled corn)
  • Sunflower seeds
  • Almonds
  • Apricot seeds (delicious!)
  • Walnuts

Dried fruits:

  • Raisins
  • Dried figs
  • Dates
  • Homemade dried apples
  • Homemade dried bananas
  • Homemade dried strawberries
  • Roasted coconut
  • Cranberries

Milk:

  • Homemade almond milk
  • Homemade coconut milk / cream
  • Mix of the two above
  • Homemade cashew milk
  • Homemade rice milk
  • Raw milk

I will certainly be writing separate posts about each category of ingredients, so you’ll know more about soaking nuts, rolling corn, drying fruits, making homemade non-dairy milks.

As I said, this is my sweet version of muesli. I also have another… ahem, yes, salty muesli recipe I invented (of course, how can a muesli be salty!?!?). It is my personal favourite, and Karma also seems to be a fan. I will share it with you sometime.

8 thoughts on “The morning after

  1. my mom made lots and lots of homemade muesli on the sobiya 🙂 we loved it. ate it raw, even with no milk. this looks wonderful. mmmmm

    • Anything on the sobiya’s delicious! I wish we could get one…
      I always had my cereals without any milk myself. I was never a big fan of milk – until I started to make non-dairy milks at home. They go SO much better with cereals, that’s how I now love eating them.

Leave a Reply

